PRS Alpha

Our ultimate distance saddle. For cyclists riding over 6 hours/week & are accustomed to a firm saddle. Custom built. Titanium rails. <font color = "blue">299 grams. Women's Model Available. <u>Firm padding.</u> 146 mm width.</font><font color = "red">

Koobi Bike Saddle Reviews

Rate This Product:
or Create a Review
(84 Ratings, 16 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
Poor Customer Service
monsteruser40 (Denver) 8/13/2014 11:09 PM
I have been very happy with my saddle for the past two years. Then the three screws that holds the rail to the saddle broke. I suspect after one broke the other two could not handle the stress and within a few days all three screws cracked. I called customer service and was met with disappointing result. I was told that since the saddle was out of warranty there was nothing that they could do. While I do understand limits of warranty, this in my opinion is a clear defect in design and I believe should have been covered. Koobi response: For several years we have been selling PRS saddles , thousands have been sold. To our knowledge this is the only time this has occurred. A problem on this small a scale does not represent a design defect. Stu called and requested us replace his saddle. Since it was at least a couple of years old and out of warranty we offered significant discount on a new saddle .Which he declined . He also declined to send us the saddle so we could examine it and diagnose the problem. We suspect the saddle was damaged in a fall .
ratingratingratingratingrating
Came back to Koobi
John (Minnesota) 8/21/2013 9:58 PM
I had tried an Alpha PRS on my bike several years ago but didn't spend the necessary time to break in the leather and put it on my mountain bike instead. I then replaced the saddle with a Fizik Versus version that worked fine for a couple of years, but I found that on long rides, the foam seemed to compress and it became very uncomfortable. I also, as I increased my mileage this year, discovered some numbness and discomfort where there shouldn't be any. So, I took the Alpha off of my MTB and re-installed it on my road bike. Instantly, after the suffering I've been through the last few weeks, I knew that this would be the fix - and it was. Several hundred miles later and some long rides, the saddle feels as great at the end of the ride as it did at the beginning. This is just a great saddle. I can't believe that I let is sit on my MTB all the while I was having these issues. One thing I found was that I'm very sensitive to seat fore and aft angle. I'd recommend looking at the Fizik Cyrano seat post that allow infinite *repeatable* adjustment to allow you to dial it in. There is a separate adjustment for the seat angle and the seat fore and aft position. It's perfect for dialing in the seat fit. My wife has an AU Enduro PRS and while it works great for her, it's not great for me. The foam is too soft but I'm a big guy and I think that I compress it too much in a long ride. I'd have to think that it's better to go firmer than it is to go softer. I've since ordered the newer version of the Alpha made from Lorica instead of leather for my cyclocross/adventur e bike. Big thanks to Phil for all his help and advice.
ratingratingratingratingrating
The Alpha is a great saddle
Carl Harsch (Medford OR) 4/28/2013 8:40 AM
I started off with a Century saddle and, while the saddle shape fit well, I didn't care much for the cloth stitching. Decided to give the Alpha a try and I'm very glad that I did that. The seat fits well, rides well, and provides great support throughout the ride. The company provides great support. If you spend some time in the saddle, the Alpha is worth a try! I'll be riding mine!
ratingratingratingratingrating
PRS Alpha
ian Turner (Bradenton, FL) 9/24/2012 9:26 PM
After ten years of enduring the saddle that my USPS Trek 5200 was sold with in 2001 I had to try something different. I have several road bikes and cycle approximately 400 miles a month. Phil Schweitzer suggest I try the Koobi Alpha it arrived in a few days and was very finally crafted. After mounting it I noticed level was not its best position I need several degrees down in the front. 1st ride was 20 miles no pain and this was ride # 1. 2nd ride was half a century and I was in no pain. Bumpy roads are soaked up by the PRS system. I highly recommend this saddle.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Road rider
Phil Kennedy (Michigan) 7/17/2012 8:42 AM
Just put the PRS Alpha on my bike and it took all of five minutes to realize this was a winner. The hardest adjustment was putting my weight on the seat, as before I was subconsciously holding my weight off with my arms. 35 miles later my butt felt just as fine as at the start! Will be ordering a second one for my backup bike.
ratingratingratingratingrating
PRS Alpha
Jack (Charleston, SC) 1/21/2011 5:19 PM
I installed my PRS Alpha after trying a lot of saddles. This saddle is mounted on my Cervelo S1. I started with the yellow pads but switched to the red. This saddle is great. I liked from the very first ride. It is firm, but absorbs road noise.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Veteran Road goat
Walt (Illinois) 1/13/2011 1:16 PM
It replaced a Selle Italia Gel Flow after I found I did not like the new version. So I tried this PRS-Alpha and after a few hundred like it alot. I did have to lube the front arm / seat interface as it would squeak.
ratingratingratingratingrating
A great road saddle
Jon Harbert (Atlanta, GA) 12/16/2010 8:40 PM
After crashing and tearing up my Koobi PRS Enduro saddle that was several years old, I decided to try the PRS Alpha. I've had the saddle for about 8 months now. I really like the slightly more firm feel. It's a quality saddle that fits me perfectly and looks good too (it's white leather). I'm 6ft 142lbs and ride about 120-150 miles a week.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Go Hard, or Go Home!!!!!!
Bob Roberts (Ipswich Queensland Australia) 8/18/2010 11:25 PM
MATE!!!! Fair Dinkum this seat is a ripper, got a BMC SL01 road racer 3 months ago and have had terrible pain in the groin region, did some research and stumbled upon, arguably the best seat ever made! the koobi prs alfa has revolutionized the saddle indistry with a design like no other, allowing complete comfort and no stress i now ride 7 hours a week and I'm never sore. With an affordable price tag, i would recommend this saddle to anyone, wanting to go hard, or else go home!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Fantastic Saddle!!
Bob Ford (Pennsylvania) 6/2/2010 7:25 PM
I purchased the PRS Alpha at the recommendation of a friend. I was immediately impressed by the great customer service as I ordered the saddle, with the rep taking lots of time to help me identify the best saddle for me and the right elastomers to use. From the outset, I have been very pleased with the saddle and it's great support and comfort. Today I just returned from my first 50+ mile ride of the season, and I'm overjoyed at how well the PRS Alpha worked for me!! No more sore rear end... the PRS Alpha is far and away the best saddle I've ever had... I have used many saddles from many different manufacturers, and none approach the all-day comfort of the PRS Alpha. In two words: highly recommended!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Koobi PRS Review
Alan (New Zealand) 1/27/2010 1:26 PM
After 5 years of training and competing in Ironman Triathlons I have finally ended my quest to find a decent saddle! I have been through 7 different, (very expensive) saddles and hated all of them. I've tried Sella's, Fizik's, SDG's and Vision's and none of them worked for me. I've always got off the bike after a long (6 hour plus) ride with sore sit bones or chaffed bits and had to shift constantly during the ride to get some comfort. In desperation I bought a second hand Koobi PRS and went straight out on a 5 hour ride. The best compliment I can think of is that I actually didn't think about the saddle the whole ride. It's amazing. Thankyou guys - my backside loves you all!!!
ratingratingratingratingrating
No more vibrations
George (Kentucky) 12/18/2009 2:56 PM
I've been riding for over 20 years. My current aluminum bike was almost impossible to ride anywhere due to the vibrations I felt on the roads. I was going to sell the bike cause it had so much vibration. I decided to try the PRS seat before I sold the bike. All of the vibrations are gone that I felt. I can ride without the vibrations, no sore tush and the seat looks so cool. My neighbor is a Schwinn mechanic and tried it and couldn't beleave it. If I ever sell this bike I'll sell it without the seat!! Do your body a favor and ride in comfort.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Awesome Alpha
Anonymous (Unknown) 12/24/2008 6:45 PM
The Alpha is my 1st Koobi saddle and I love it. The first time I rode it was for a 3 1/2 hour ride and it was perfect. It is very comfortable with a great fit. Not only that, it looks awesome on my new bike.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Love It
Anonymous (Unknown) 11/26/2008 11:41 AM
I've tried out a few saddles before taking the plunge with this one, and, all I can say, is that I'm glad I did. This saddle is super comfortable.
ratingratingratingratingrating
3rd PRS Alpha on the way!
Anonymous (Unknown) 8/25/2008 1:06 PM
I've been extremely happy with the PRS Alpha saddle design. Whether I'm riding in a time trial, a century, weeknight club ride, cruiser run on the prairie path - the PRS Alpha does it all comfortably. The shape of the saddle and the cutout fit my anatomy perfectly, and offer a comfortable ride every time. I've tried the Bontrager InForm RL, Fizik Arione Wingflex, Selle Italia SLR Gelflow - all of which have ended up on eBay in search of the perfect saddle. The search is over. Thanks to Phil for his premier customer service too, three cheers! Mark Linton - Naperville, IL
ratingratingratingratingrating
A 5 STAR WINNER
Anonymous (Unknown) 8/24/2008 12:20 PM
I am a 67 yr old avid cyclist averaging about 4000 miles/yr. Once a week I like riding a 60-80 mile day in addition to 20's to 40's during the week. A comfortable saddle is a must. I have used this saddle for about 400 miles during which time I fine tuned its tilt to meet my needs. With the understanding that saddle preference is highly individualistic I very much recommend the PRS Alpha. It is a firm shock absorbing saddle which translates into non-chaffing comfort when your butt muscles are "trained". This saddle is still very comfortable even after a long day, day after day. Nice job Koobi.
page1